Skip to main content
The Aboriginal Languages Recognition Act
This is an unofficial version.
If you need an official copy, use the bilingual (PDF) version.

This version is current as of November 26, 2021.
It has been in effect since May 12, 2021.

Show previous versions Hide previous versions

This search displays only the paragraphs with hits.
Match: Search:

You can use wild cards:

'*' allows for 0 or more characters (eg. ceas* will match 'cease', 'ceased', 'ceasing' and 'ceases')

'?' allows for 0 or 1 character (eg. cease? will match 'cease', 'ceases' and 'ceased', but not 'ceasing')

This search is not case sensitive.

C.C.S.M. c. A1.5

The Aboriginal Languages Recognition Act

(Assented to June 17, 2010)

WHEREAS there are seven Aboriginal languages currently spoken in Manitoba, being Cree, Dakota, Dene, Inuktitut, Michif, Ojibwe and Ojibwe-Cree;

AND WHEREAS recent studies indicate that just 30% of First Nations people can speak an Aboriginal language well enough to carry on a conversation;

AND WHEREAS the Michif language, a blend of French and Cree that was once common in Metis communities, is now considered endangered, as there are fewer than 1,000 people who speak it;

AND WHEREAS younger generations of Aboriginal people are increasingly likely to acquire their language as a second language rather than as a mother tongue — a trend that is most evident among those living off-reserve in urban areas;

AND WHEREAS Aboriginal languages are vital to the survival of the culture and identity of Aboriginal people;

AND WHEREAS language revitalization can contribute to increased self-esteem, community well-being and cultural continuity;

AND WHEREAS the government has a role to play in recognizing and promoting the preservation and use of Aboriginal languages;

S.M. 2021, c. 4, s. 1.

THEREFORE HER MAJESTY, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba, enacts as follows:

Recognition of Aboriginal languages


The languages of Cree, Dakota, Dene, Inuktitut, Michif, Ojibwe and Ojibwe-Cree are recognized as the Aboriginal languages spoken and used in Manitoba.

S.M. 2021, c. 4, s. 1.

C.C.S.M. reference


This Act may be referred to as chapter A1.5 of the Continuing Consolidation of the Statutes of Manitoba.

Coming into force


This Act comes into force on the day it receives royal assent.