This is an unofficial archived version.
If you need an official copy, use the bilingual (PDF) version.

This version was current from June 17, 2010 to May 11, 2021.

Note: It does not reflect any retroactive amendment enacted after May 11, 2021.
To find out if an amendment is retroactive, see the coming-into-force provisions
at the end of the amending Act.

Latest version

C.C.S.M. c. A1.5

The Aboriginal Languages Recognition Act

Table of contents

(Assented to June 17, 2010)

WHEREAS there are seven Aboriginal languages currently spoken in Manitoba, being Cree, Dakota, Dene, Inuktitut, Michif, Ojibway and Oji-Cree;

AND WHEREAS recent studies indicate that just 30% of First Nations people can speak an Aboriginal language well enough to carry on a conversation;

AND WHEREAS the Michif language, a blend of French and Cree that was once common in Metis communities, is now considered endangered, as there are fewer than 1,000 people who speak it;

AND WHEREAS younger generations of Aboriginal people are increasingly likely to acquire their language as a second language rather than as a mother tongue — a trend that is most evident among those living off-reserve in urban areas;

AND WHEREAS Aboriginal languages are vital to the survival of the culture and identity of Aboriginal people;

AND WHEREAS language revitalization can contribute to increased self-esteem, community well-being and cultural continuity;

AND WHEREAS the government has a role to play in recognizing and promoting the preservation and use of Aboriginal languages;

THEREFORE HER MAJESTY, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba, enacts as follows:

Recognition of Aboriginal languages


The languages of Cree, Dakota, Dene, Inuktitut, Michif, Ojibway and Oji-Cree are recognized as the Aboriginal languages spoken and used in Manitoba.

C.C.S.M. reference


This Act may be referred to as chapter A1.5 of the Continuing Consolidation of the Statutes of Manitoba.

Coming into force


This Act comes into force on the day it receives royal assent.