3rd Session, 41st Legislature

This HTML version is provided for ease of use and is based on the bilingual version that was distributed in the Legislature after First Reading.

Bill 204


  Bilingual version (PDF) Explanatory Note

(Assented to                                         )

HER MAJESTY, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba, enacts as follows:

C.C.S.M. c. E40 amended

1           The Electoral Divisions Act is amended by this Act.

2           Subsection 7(1) is amended by striking out "57 electoral divisions" and substituting "49 electoral divisions".

3(1)        Subsection 9(1) is amended

(a) by striking out "2008" and substituting "2018"; and

(b) by striking out "57" and substituting "49".

3(2)        Subsection 9(3) is amended by striking out "2006" and substituting "2016".

4(1)        Subsection 10(1) is amended

(a) by striking out "2008" and substituting "2018"; and

(b) by striking out "names of the electoral divisions" and substituting "name of each of the 49 electoral divisions".

4(2)        Subsection 10(2) is amended by striking out "2008" and substituting "2018".

Consequential amendment, C.C.S.M. c. L110

5           Subsection 3(1) of The Legislative Assembly Act is amended by striking out "57 members" and substituting "49 members".

Coming into force

6(1)        This Act, except sections 2 and 5, comes into force on the day it receives royal assent.

Coming into force: sections 2 and 5

6(2)        Sections 2 and 5 come into force on the date of the first dissolution of the Legislature to occur after December 31, 2018.

Explanatory Note

This Bill amends The Electoral Divisions Act to reduce the number of electoral divisions in Manitoba from 57 to 49 for the first general election that takes place after 2018. A consequential amendment is made to The Legislative Assembly Act.